back to all posts no alt text

July 12, 2023

·

1 min read

My first project in production

Expedición Masters is the first production app that I’ve ever created along with another teammate. This project helped elderly users access statistics that DmX stored to keep track of their progress as loan promotors.

The challenge of new tools

One of the things that where the most challenging upfront for this project was that I had to learn Vue 3 for the project while developing a production app. I had my hiccups at first, but I learned to love Vue afterwards.

What did I learn?

It was my first approach to a real software development experience. From the start, this project had users already expecting the product, so I worked towards a deadline on every stage of the project, getting used to work under pressure from several stakeholders.

What I enjoyed the most of this project was that I had to implement a pixel perfect design that was handed to me by a UI/UX designer, so I really dug into what is now my favorite way of writing css which is Tailwind CSS.

Working with Scrum was another key takeaway from the project. I had to coordinate with design and backend engineers to know the latest news on the state of the project. I enjoyed this working methodology that I now try to use it when I develop projects at school or with friends.

Conclusion

In the end, this is a project that I’m fond of, because somehow feel it marks the beginning of my career as a Software Engineer/Web Developer since my code had a real impact on users and the company. And last but not least, I got to work with amazing engineers.